Camiguin Island – Geography, Towns & Islands

Camiguin Island lies in the northwest coast of Mindanao. It is part of a geopolitical grouping of provinces comprising Region X or Northern Mindanao. Other provinces of Region X are Bukidnon, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental and Lanao del Norte. Camiguin is the smallest province with a land area of 29,187 hectares or 238 sq. kilometers – only around 2% of Region X.

by Storm Crypt

This small pear-shaped volcanic island is 10 kilometers off the coast of the province of Misamis Oriental; 90 kilometers north of the Cagayan de Oro Airport and120 km southeast of Mactan International Airport in Cebu. It is bounded to the north by the Bohol Sea with the Chocolate Hills lying 54 kilometers away. It is bounded to the west by Macajalar Bay, to the southeast by Gingoog Bay and to the east by Butuan Bay.

Camiguin has an estimated population of more than 74,000 persons per the National Statistics Office, and is the second smallest in the Philippines in terms of population. It is composed of five (5) municipalities namely: Mambajao, Catarman, Sagay, Guinsiliban and Mahinog. It has two other attractive islets better known as White Island and Mantigue Island. Each of these has unique endowments.


photo by benny_yap

Mambajao is a 4th class municipality and the capital of the province of Camiguin with a population of 30,806 people in 5,978 households according to the 2000 census. It is subdivided into 15 barangays: Agoho, Anito, Balbagon, Baylao, Benhaan, Bug-ong, Kuguita, Magting, Naasag, Pandan, Poblacion, Soro-Soro, Tagdo, Tupsan and Yumbing.

Catarman is a 5th class municipality with a population of 15,386 people in 3,236 households according to the 2000 census. It is subdivided into 14 barangays: Alga, Bonbon, Bura, Catibac, Compol, Lawigan, Liloan, Looc, Mainit, Manduao, Panghiawan, Poblacion, Santo Niño and Tangaro.

Sagay is a 5th class municipality with a population of 10,356 people in 2,058 households according to the 2000 census. It is subdivided into 9 barangays: Alangilan, Bacnit, Balite, Bonbon, Bugang, Cuna, Manuyog, Mayana and Poblacion

Guinsiliban is a 6th class municipality with a population of 5,092 people in 1,066 households according to the 2000 census. It is subdivided into 7 barangays: Butay, Cabuan, Cantaan, Liong, Maac, North Poblacion and South Poblacion.


photo by benny_yap

Mahinog is a 5th class municipality with a population of 12,592 people in 2,488 households according to the 2000 census. It is bounded in the north by the town of Mambajao, on the south by the municipality of Guinsiliban, on the east by Mindanao Sea and on the west by Mt. Timpoong. It is subdivided into 13 barangays: Benoni, Binaliwan, Catohugan, Hubangon, Owakan, Poblacion, Puntod, San Isidro, San Jose, San Miguel, San Roque, Tubod and Tupsan Pequeño.

White Island is a sandbar of powdery white sand about two kilometers with no vegetation, no trees, and no shade except for small huts recently added. The sandbar can only be enjoyed during the morning low tide since it disappears under the sea in the afternoon when the tide is high. It is surrounded by crystal clear blue waters of the sea with the volcanic peaks of the island in the background. From the mainland of Camiguin Island, at barangay Yumbing of Mambajao, it is only a ten-minute boat ride on a native outrigger boat.


photo by benny_yap

Mantigue Island is three kilometers off the shore from Barangay San Roque, Mahinog. It is an island with four hectares of evergreen forest fringed with a sandy beach. The boat ride to Mantigue is quite exciting, as one has to contend with strong diverging currents due to the open sea. One side of the island is ideal for swimming as it is shallow and has few corals. The opposite side is a deep drop off ideal for snorkeling and diving.


Camiguin Island

Camiguin Island Tourist Attractions