San Isidro Town Bohol Travel Guide

Check out Now the best Bohol deals

The municipality of San Isidro is situated on the interior part of Bohol, lying north of the municipality of Antequera, south of the municipality of Tubigon, east of the municipality of Calape, and west of the municipality of Catigbian. The town is 32 kilometers away from the province’s lone city and its capital, Tagbilaran City.

View Larger Map

It can be reached by bus or jeepney and even vans-for-hire and taxis that are going northbound from Tagbilaran. It takes approximately 1 hour to reach the town, passing through scenic rice fields, banana and coconut groves along the towns before it.

San Isidro is politically subdivided into 12 barangays, to wit: Abehilan, Baunos, Cabanugan, Caimbang, Cambansag, Candungao, Cansague Norte, Cansague Sur, Causwagan Sur, Masonoy, Poblacion, and Baryong Daan.

As per 2007 census, the town has a population of 9, 176 people spread over a land area of 4104 hectares. Although recorded as a 5th class municipality, the Local Government Unit of San Isidro proved that they can still achieve admirable developments for the town way beyond their capacity as a 5th class municipality.

One of its achievements is the institution of the First Agbunan Festival wherein the culture and traditions of the San Isidrohanons are displayed. The Festival is a great means for the promotion of tourism, of ecological and agricultural pursuits, the enhancement of folk beliefs and of the natural environment.

The Festival comprises a street-dancing and a showdown. Showcases of organic farm products from the different barangays of the town are also displayed.

As the place is ideal for agriculture, together with its favorable climate, the town’s major industry is the production of agricultural products such as rice, coconut, corn, coffee and rootcrops.

Leaders who are devoted Roman Catholics decided to build a chapel dedicated to Saint Isidore the farmer, their chosen Patron Saint, which is considered as the patron saint for farmers.

Three rivers are found in the municipality. Sampilangon River is in the eastern part which is also the largest among the three. Ugay River is in the central part. It connects Sampilangon River in barangay Caimbang. The last river is the Magdahunog River in the western part. It connects Tabuan River in Antequera.


San Isidro was once a part of the municipality of Antequera. Macapagao was the place’s name which was said to be because of a person residing there who had a very harsh voice. People living there refer it as “macapagao”. After some time, the place was called Agbunan. The names is originated from a plant called “bugang” that bears white flowers that spreads or scatters into the air when the wind blows.

Agbunan became one of the barrios of Catigbian when the latter was made into a town during the Spanish regime.

Catigbian was destroyed during the Philippine-American war. Its barrios were ceded to the neighboring municipalities and that was when Agbunan was back to Antequera. However, when Catigbian was restored, Agbunan once again became a part of Catigbian. Agbunan or San Isidro was one of the big barangays of Catigbian.

The place was formally made into a separate town on June 21, 1969 when President Ferdinand Marcos signed into Law RA 5662 creating San Isidro as one of the towns of the province of Bohol. The dream of making their barrio into a town was inspired by its rapid growth and development.

Related Article:

First Agbunan Festival of San Isidro Municipality

Your Stories and Comments Here!

Go ahead and tell us your story!

[ ? ]

Upload 1-4 Pictures or Graphics (optional)[ ? ]


Click here to upload more images (optional)

Author Information (optional)

To receive credit as the author, enter your information below.

(first or full name)

(e.g., City, State, Country)

Submit Your Contribution

  •  submission guidelines.

(You can preview and edit on the next page)

Check out for Bohol Hotel Deals
Back to Top: The town of San Isidro, Bohol Philippines
Back to Bohol